Fall 2012 Preview: Sakurasou no Pet na Kanajo

The Trailer

Title: Sakurasou no Pet na Kanajo
TV Series; 1 Cour
Genre: Comedy, Romance, School
Produced: J.C. Staff
Adaptation of: Novel, Manga

The school romantic comedy revolves around a second-year high school student named Sorata Kanda who lives in Sakurasou, the dormitory for problem children at Sorata’s school. One day, Mashiro Shiina —a cute girl who happens to be also a cosmopolitan, brilliant artist— moves into Sakurasou.

Sorata thinks to himself that he should protect Mashiro from the weirdos at Sakurasou, but Mashiro has a surprising secret: she has no idea how to take care of herself. She gets lost if she goes out, and her room is a complete mess. Sorata’s dorm mates designate him as the “master” of Mashiro, and thus, an ordinary boy and a brilliant girl must live like “a master and his pet.”

– Anime News Network

Either she just said she loves the guy, or she loves the sky. My lack of Japanese understanding aside, I’m really digging the “cute” character designs. Though I personally probably wouldn’t be too thrilled at the prospect of having such a “high-maintenance” girlfriend, I’d be glad to watch how someone else deals with one. Hopefully this show is as fun as it appears to be, though I can see it having some serious moments.

For some reason I’m loving the art direction on this show. Everything seems to have this natural flow to it that makes the characters seem so alive. I think that this series is going to tread into traditional rom-com territory without really offering anything new. This isn’t a bad thing as every season’s lineup needs a few shows that knows not to take things too seriously. This series looks like a must watch for fans of slice-of-lifes with a BDSM angle.

I really like the lighting in the initial scene, and that hopefully portends a nice variation in colors and lighting for this show, and allowing it to assist the moods of the scenes. As for content, I’m all about the rom-coms, and even odd ones can be great. In fact, it’s nice if they can have a hook, but they still need to bring the romance for me to really enjoy it. But this is one that I’ll definitely watch.

Twitter Hype!

@Jake_W: Hmm…looking at the shows for this Fall, I might watch #Sakurasou if only for the fact that I have yet to meet a Shiina I dislike. #anime

@OPSelcouth: Brilliant illustration, I must say. Can’t wait for the anime itself!#Sakurasou

How Hyped are You?

Comment to Join the Discussion!

