Fall 2012 Preview: Girls und Panzer

The Trailer

Title: Girls und Panzer
TV Series; 1 Cour
Genre: School, Military
Produced: Actas
Adaptation of: Manga

In the world, the manipulation of tanks (Sensha-do) is one of the traditional martial arts especially for girls. Miho doesn’t like Sensha-do and moves to Oarai Girl’s High School. But the chairperson of the student council orders Miho to participate in the national Sensha-do championship.

– My Anime List

The impression the trailer gives off is “school girls being school girls”. Oh, and let’s throw in random tanks as an afterthought to spice things up. Hopefully this ends up being better than Upotte!

I don’t know how I exactly feel about this show. I love me some girls with guns a la Gunslinger Girl, but I don’t think it will hit the same philosophical notes. This might be a fun show with its moments but I don’t think it will be that great. From the promotional video, none of the characters look particularly interesting and the lead’s personality seems to hinge on the fact she’s clumsy.

Ok, Middle school girls and a tank? I’d prefer high school girls for it to be a bit less squicky, but let’s not think about that too much (and maybe they are just moe high school girls). I though Upotte! was fun, and this looks at least in the same orbit as that.

Twitter Hype!

@spongbros: My pick for the upcoming anime season is Girls un’ Panzer. Look, trust me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcv3fLTlD-k #garupan@garupan http://girls-und-panzer.jp

@jet_moebro: Having @ChouCho_ singing the OP for #garupan will only make it 180% better!

How Hyped are You?

Comment to Join the Discussion!

