Jormungand: Perfect Order – First Impressions

Is Jormungand’s second season shaping up to be perfect?

Jormungand was by far one of my favorite series of Spring 2012. It had all the style of Black Lagoon, the substance of Gunslinger Girls and one of the most charismatic characters I have ever seen in an anime. I was loco for Koko. The second season has large shoes to fill, and is it even anywhere close to perfect?

For those unfamiliar with Jormungand, stop reading these First Impressions and check out the first season of this show. If you’re a fan of action anime with a modern twist, you owe it to yourself to at least give it a chance. Fans of Black Lagoon will be right at home, both with the art style and the contemporary setting.

I will go out on a limb and say this might shape up to be one of the best shows this season. One of the faults with the original Jormungand was the serialized approach it took to telling it’s story. While it provided lots of excuses to blow up things and kill off evil weapons dealers, it didn’t provide anything substantial in terms of a narrative. I am happy to say that Perfect Order seemingly does away with this formula by planting the seeds for an epic overarching plot involving the CIA, paramilitary groups, rebel scientists and Koko herself.

There is still an air of mystery to what exactly is going on. What is Project Undershaft? Who is Hex? What is the symbolic meaning behind Jormungand? The show has more than ample time to answer all these questions. Knowing the series’ penchant for over-the-top shenanigans, it’ll be a crazy romp on the path to figuring them out.

The background visuals are still stunning as the series traverses it’s eclectic mix of settings. It covers the beautiful azure hues of the Agean Sea, metropolitan cities, dank night clubs and barren middle eastern military camps all in one episode. If anything I expect Koko to be going on adventures to even more diverse regions over the course of this series.

That’s my general consensus on all my predictions for the series. It seems like it will try and serve everything on the Jormungand menu with free helping of sides. Maybe it’s just my bias speaking but the sheer thrill of¬†imminently¬†epic ongoings gets my adrenalin pumping. I can’t help but be excited for this as I was for the second season of Black Lagoon.

 

There is nothing really bad or ugly with this show. One thing I can knock on is the overly muscular character designs. At times it does look a bit comical which takes away from the series as a whole. I don’t want to laugh at R or Valmet looking like they just benched an elephant and then took a fistful of steroids just to make sure they were buff enough. At times even Koko looks like she’s a muscular tank and she doesn’t seem to get much weight lifting in.

I can see things getting ugly if the series doesn’t deliver. It can just be a result of unreasonable hype on my end of things but I have faith in this series. In all honesty, I’ll be satisified if this is just Jormungand 1.1 at the end of the day. The series did so many things right that if the producers just stick the plan, it should be just fine.

Another knock I do have is with the opening theme. UNDER/SHAFT by Maon Kurosaki doesn’t have the energy of Borderland by Mami Kawada. Kurosaki has similar vocal qualities as Kawada, but I feel like the production is just not there. There was something about Borderland‘s guitars and engrish that just hit you in the face. Other than that things are looking quite good for Koko and company.

3 thoughts on “Jormungand: Perfect Order – First Impressions

  1. An overarching story will definitely help pull things together. I was a big fan of season 1 as well, but I felt like it lacked a unifying theme or direction. Koko and her team just killed a bunch of dudes…The Undershaft plan sounds very promising though. S2 looks good. The first episode was pretty strong too, especially since they wasted no time diving right back into things without too many recaps.

    I’m with you that the OP isn’t as good as S1’s Borderland. It needs to be more badass and hard-hitting.

    • Hey thanks for visiting my blog! Yeah I wish they just reused Borderland… I wouldn’t have been dissapointed in the least.

      • I started lurking once I realized Metanorn wasn’t the only place you blogged, hehe. :3

        I don’t mind having a new OP since it’s exciting to think about new possibilities for good music, but it just didn’t work out in the end :/ Borderlands shall live on in our hearts!

Comment to Join the Discussion!

