Little Busters! Weekly Update – Episode 4

Here comes the sad stuff.

So I decided to check my Twitter feed after a long period of neglecting it, and lo and behold, I found a bunch of LB! hate. To sum up, it sounds like the original scenes are somehow much better than the anime rendition, and thus J.C. Staff is doing a terrible job. I have to agree that LB! doesn’t seem to particularly stand out from the rest of the shows this season, despite VN supposedly being the best thing since sliced bread. Caustic comments aside, I would hesitate to say that the LB! anime is a disaster. It’s just not really outstanding. One tweet I read pointed out that those who haven’t played the VN won’t understand things or will be satisfied with a “subpar rendition” while those who have played the VN will be completely disappointed and even devastated at the steaming pile of shit that is the J.C. Staff adaptation.

Err, well, maybe I exaggerated the language a little. First of all, I should make it clear that I am part of the crowd that has not played the VN. According to the haters, this means that I should just stop watching the anime and “do myself a favor” by playing the VN instead. Thanks for the advice, but I think I’ll stick with the anime for now. Despite the lack of interesting developments in the previous episodes, this episode actually seemed to be heading in a good direction. And that’s all I need to know. I don’t need to be aware of some massively superior version that I’m missing out on. If I wanted to play the VN, I’d do so. But that’s not what I’m doing here. I’m watching the anime. Still, that’s not to say that it isn’t fair to compare the two. Obviously, the way in which the anime is adapted should have a hand in determining how good it is. But I don’t think that it’s fair to rip on the show just because it wasn’t done exactly the way it was in the VN. And to my understanding, J.C. Staff isn’t making huge changes to the story or anything. Supposedly, there’s been a slight shuffling around in the order of things. And as for what is missing from the specific scenes in the anime, I have yet to hear any meaningful explanation. If you’re going to complain so strongly about something, at least provide some substance so that those of us less savvy folk can understand what the disappointment is about.

But that’s enough ranting about ranting. Let’s get back to the episode itself. As expected of a Key work, things suddenly take a serious and somber turn. Despite her cheerful disposition, Komari actually has some rather troubling problems. It’s not yet clear what exactly the circumstances are, but she’s convinced that she has an older brother. The catch, of course, is that he isn’t around anymore. So just what happened to him? The Riki arrives at the immediately obvious conclusion, but Komari is convinced that her brother is still out there somewhere, and really wants to meet him again someday. I can’t say for certain what will happen, but I guess it all depends on how heart-wrenching Key wants to be here. I honestly hope that Komari will be able to meet her brother in the flesh again though, because it’s always painful to watch when the “break the cutie” trope is invoked.

It looks like this mini-arc might be wrapped up next episode though, so at least it won’t be a drawn-out experience. Then perhaps we might get around to meeting the final, blue-haired member of the Little Busters.

I’m not really a fan of the super-cheerful characters. I do appreciate the genki ones for their uplifting energy, but I just can’t seem to get into the silly, optimistic ones. Komari falls under the latter category, so I’m unfortunately turned away by her happy-go-lucky attitude. While the world isn’t that terrible a place, things aren’t so convenient that good deeds will solve all problems in some sort of chain reaction. I guess that’s just my pessimism kicking in. But there’s an even bigger problem with Komari. That is, her voice. There’s just something extremely annoying about that high-pitched whiny tone. But of course, it’s not completely unbearable. Except when there are three such characters. Ok, so Rin and Kud aren’t nearly as bad, but they’re do make me cringe a little. The odds of this changing are absolutely zilch though, so I’ll just have to persevere until I’ve been desensitized.

The Screenshots

4 thoughts on “Little Busters! Weekly Update – Episode 4

  1. Yeah its bad…. I said on RC that this is one of the best comedy of the season and got downvoted + troll comment (tht I downvoted)…. IMO, the adaptation looks OK/good to me quality and content wise. (Not watched other key anime might also have help me w/h it) And is the jokes of LB! is really unfunny or is it me being Yukiko?

    Looks like the “drama/sad” part famous of key (or so I hear) is finally coming… Now you have me interested with tht FUS RO DAH old guy.

    Oh wait, hi I am D-LaN. I came here frm metanorn and nice to meet you guys here. Nice layout. And I don’t see anything wrong with the screenshots? (Why is it in Ugly category?)

    • Hey D-Lan, thanks for coming by!

      We had some comment discussion last week that this show was just walking a really safe path. And because of that, it’s just not superlative. It’s not great, it’s not bad, it’s just kinda there. They seem to be doing an ok job with the adaptation, the overly emotional people on twitter notwithstanding. And even those comments seem to be “It’s not as good as it SHOULD have been”, not “this whole thing is totally wrong!” I think it’s probably a combination of things like JC Staff isn’t KyoAni, and the LB property is one that tons of people are familiar with, so maybe lots of people are kind of upset that it didn’t get a KyoAni treatment like the other Key VN’s (and I’d also bet KyoAni would do a better job). It’s certainly not as bad as Arcana Famiglia’s adaptation last season, tho. That was just dreadful.

      I think the screenshots are just at the end of the post. 🙂

    • Nice to see you here, D-LaN. I’ve commented a few times that we should have a little section image that says “The Screenshots”, but Sushi never gets around to making that. Or he just never sees my comments about that. Perhaps it’ll be a running gag that our images will be in the “ugly” section.

Comment to Join the Discussion!

